RWE SmartHome

Energielösung to go – einfach, komfortabel und sicher Energiehaushalte steuern.

RWE Smart Home Wifi Adapter und Thermostat.

voRWEg gehen

RWE bietet mit der von uns gestalteten Produktlinie SmartHome eine innovative, einfache Energiesparlösung für jedermann. Mit unseren cleveren Interface-Metaphern und einem reduzierten, aber prägnanten Produktdesign sorgten wir für eine einfache Integration und Handhabung und ermöglichten eine schnelle Übersicht über die individuellen Gerätezustände sowie über den Gesamtenergieverbrauch des Zuhauses. Der Konzern selbst meisterte mit SmartHome den Wandel von einem reinen Energielieferanten zum Serviceanbieter und zog mit seinen Produkten in die deutschen Haushalte ein.

Client Info

Client
RWE Effizienz GmbH
Industry
Building Technology
Project Date
2010-2012
User Interface Design für die RWE SmartHome App.
SmartHome: innovativ, mobil und kinderleicht

Für die neue Produktfamilie des Energieanbieters RWE entwickelten wir ein innovatives Design, das die Installation, Konfiguration und Bedienbarkeit der Haussteuerungs-Software kinderleicht machte. Per Drag&Drop kann der Nutzer das eigene SmartHome problemlos einrichten. Die Steuerung ist plattformübergreifend per PC, Tablet oder Smartphone möglich. Auf einen Blick wird hier der aktuelle Energiehaushalt des Zuhauses angezeigt und kann gesteuert werden – von daheim und unterwegs.

Intuitive Logik für komplexe Szenarien

Für die innovative SmartHome Lösung fand RWE 2010 mit designaffairs einen Partner, der das komplexe Konfigurationsszenario in eine intuitive Bedienlogik für verschiedene Benutzer- und Altersgruppen überführte. Die Bedienoberfläche setzten wir direkt auf MS Silverlight um. Ein übergreifender Styleguide, Produktmanuals sowie das Benutzerhandbuch waren ebenso Bestandteil unserer Projektleistungen wie der integrierte App-Store.

Kinderspiel

Einfache Integration und intuitive Bedienung per Drag&Drop.

to go

Erste Energiesteuerung für daheim und unterwegs – per PC, Tablet oder Smartphone.

Produkt und Interface Design gehen Hand in Hand

In einem ersten Schritt erstellte unser Strategie-Team mit SimuPro® ein Markenwirkungsprofil. Auf dieser Basis wurde ein Designstil definiert, der sowohl dem Industrial Design der Einzelgeräte wie auch dem User Interface Design der Software als Grundlage diente. Unsere Industrial Designer brachten im nächsten Schritt bereits bestehende Produkte mit den neuen Einheiten in eine konsistente Form. Sie entwarfen für die gesamte Produktlinie ein Design, das die Zugehörigkeit zum RWE Konzern betonte. Um die komplexe Software des Systems attraktiv zu gestalten und ihr auf allen Medienplattformen ein einheitliches Gesicht zu verleihen, definierten wir mit dem Energiekonzern Nutzungsszenarien inklusive Anforderungs- und Funktionsset. Hierfür erstellten unsere Interface-Experten Wireframes, Screendesigns sowie zahlreiche Icons und konzipierten ein einheitliches Look and Feel. Das Interaktions- und Designkonzept wurde in engen Abstimmungsrunden zwischen Usability Engineers, Designern und Programmierern entwickelt. So entstanden agile Module, die eine reibungslose Übergabe an die Entwicklungsabteilung nach der Sprint-Methodik ermöglichten und in einer effizienten Lösung aufgingen.

Skizze des RWE Thermostat.

change

Mit SmartHome begleiten wir den Energielieferanten RWE beim Wandel zum Serviceanbieter.

Diese Cases könnten Sie auch interessieren.
NESCAFÉ® Milano 2.0, kommerzielle Kaffeemaschine, User Interface Design.

NESCAFÉ®
Milano 2.0
Cloud-basierte Kaffeemaschine für den gewerblichen Bereich.

 
Das Innovaphone Telefon: Produktdesign.

Innovaphone IP Konzept, Design und Konstruktion einer IP-Telefonfamilie.

Ihre Ansprechpartner.
Nico Michler Managing Director and Expert for Household, Building Technology and Automotive & Mobility

Nico Michler Lernen Sie unsere Geschäftsführer, Direktoren und Competence Leads kennen!

 
Werner Spicka Executive Director Interaction Experience

Werner Spicka Lernen Sie unsere Geschäftsführer, Direktoren und Competence Leads kennen!

 
Andreas Rieger Director Project Management

Andreas Rieger Lernen Sie unsere Geschäftsführer, Direktoren und Competence Leads kennen!

Angewandte Methoden.
Abstraktes Moodbild für SimuPro: Dreiecke, Kreise und die WMF1 Padmaschine.

SimuPro® Mit unseren einzigartigen Tools leiten wir Design nachvollziehbar von Markenwerten ab und machen das Emotionale messbar.

RWE SmartHome

Energy solution to go – control your energy balances simply, conveniently and safely.

RWE Smart Home thermostat and Wifi controller.

From energy supplier to service provider.

With the SmartHome product line designed by designaffairs, RWE offers an innovative, simple energy-saving solution for everyone. With our clever interface metaphors and a simplified, but distinctive product design we not only ensured the straightforward integration and operation, but also facilitated a fast overview of the individual objects as well as the overall energy consumption of the home. The group mastered the transition from a pure energy supplier to a service provider with SmartHome and moved into German homes with its products.

 

 

Client Info

Client
RWE Effizienz GmbH
Industry
Building Technology
Project Date
2010-2012
User Interface Design for the RWE SmartHome App.
SmartHome: innovative, mobile and easy to use

We developed an innovative design for the new product family by the energy supplier RWE that made child’s play of the installation, configuration and operation of the home monitoring software. The user can set up and configure his own SmartHome quickly and easily using Drag&Drop. This can then be managed across platforms with a PC, tablet or a smartphone. One glance is all it takes to see and manage the home’s current energy consumption – both from within your own four walls and whilst on the road.

Intuitive logic for complex scenarios

For the innovative SmartHome solution RWE found a partner with designaffairs in 2010 that was able to transfer the complicated configuration scenario into intuitive operations logic for different user and age groups. We implemented the operating interface directly on MS Silverlight. A comprehensive style guide, product manuals and the user guide were all also elements of our project services as well as the integrated App-Store.

Child’s play

Simple integration and intuitive Drag&Drop operation.

to go

The first energy management system for at home and on the road – with a PC, tablet or smartphone.

Product and interface design go hand in hand

The first step for our strategy team was to create a brand profile with SimuPro®. These results were used as a basis to design a design style that served both as a basis for the industrial design of the individual devices as well as the software user interface design. Our industrial designers then took things a step further by bringing existing products into a consistent form with the new devices. They developed a design for the entire product line that emphasized the affiliation with the RWE group. In order to give the complex software an attractive design and to lend it the same face on all media platforms we worked with the energy group to define use cases that incorporated requirement and function sets. To do so our interface experts created wire frames, screen designs as well as numerous icons and conceived a uniform look and feel. The interaction and design concept was developed in close work groups comprising usability engineers, designers and programmers. The result was agile modules that facilitated a smooth handover to the development department using the Sprint methodology and resulted in an efficient solution.

Sketch of the RWE thermostat.

change

We are accompanying the energy supplier RWE in its transition to a service provider with SmartHome.

Similar cases you might be interested in.
NESCAFÉ® Milano 2.0, commercial coffeemaker, User Interface Design.

NESCAFÉ®
Milano 2.0
Cloud-based coffee machine in the commercial sector.

 
The Innovaphone telephone: Industrial design.

Innovaphone IP Concept, design and construction of an IP-telephone family.

Persons in charge.
Nico Michler Managing Director and Expert for Household, Building Technology and Automotive & Mobility

Nico Michler Get to know our Managing Partners, Directors and Competence Leads!

 
Werner Spicka Executive Director Interaction Experience

Werner Spicka Get to know our Managing Partners, Directors and Competence Leads!

 
Andreas Rieger Director Project Management

Andreas Rieger Get to know our Managing Partners, Directors and Competence Leads!

Tools we used in the process.
Abstract mood pictures for SimuPro: Triangles, circles and the WMF1 pad machine.

SimuPro® Using our proprietary tools we derive design solutions directly from a set of brand values – and make emotional responses measurable.